Home  »  SWYM  »  SWAYAM





  Nptel, online courses and certification, Learn for free






SWAYAM is a programme initiated by Government of India and designed to achieve the three cardinal

               principles of Education Policy viz., access, equity and quality. The objective of this effort is to

               take the best teaching learning resources to all, including the most disadvantaged. SWAYAM seeks to

               bridge the digital divide for students who have hitherto remained untouched by the digital revolution

               and have not been able to join the mainstream of the knowledge economy.







            This is done through a platform that facilitates hosting of all the courses, taught in classrooms

            from Class 9 till post-graduation to be accessed by anyone, anywhere at any time. All the courses

            are interactive, prepared by the best teachers in the country and are available, free of cost to

            any learner. More than 1,000 specially chosen faculty and teachers from across the country have

            participated in preparing these courses.



            The courses hosted on SWAYAM are in 4 quadrants – (1) video lecture, (2) specially prepared reading

            material that can be downloaded/printed (3) self-assessment tests through tests and quizzes and

            (4) an online discussion forum for clearing the doubts. Steps have been taken to enrich the learning

            experience by using audio-video and multi-media and state of the art pedagogy / technology.



            In order to ensure that best quality content is produced and delivered, nine National Coordinators

            have been appointed. They are:



  1.   AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education) for self-paced and international courses

  3.   NPTEL (National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning) for Engineering

  5.   UGC (University Grants Commission) for non technical post-graduation education

  7.   CEC (Consortium for Educational Communication) for under-graduate education

  9.   NCERT (National Council of Educational Research and Training) for school education

  11.   NIOS (National Institute of Open Schooling) for school education

  13.   IGNOU (Indira Gandhi National Open University) for out-of-school students

  15.   IIMB (Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore) for management studies

  17.   NITTTR (National Institute of Technical Teachers Training and Research) for Teacher Training programme




            Courses delivered through SWAYAM are available free of cost to the learners, however learners wanting

            a SWAYAM certificate should register for the final proctored exams that come at a fee and attend

            in-person at designated centres on specified dates. Eligibility for the certificate will be announced

            on the course page and learners will get certificates only if this criteria is matched.

            Universities/colleges approving credit transfer for these courses can use the marks/certificate

            obtained in these courses for the same.